Eurovision Semi-Final #1 Preview

Tonight is the first semi-final for the Eurovision Song Contest, or as I like to call it, “The Weak-ass Semi-Final.” Let’s be honest, with a couple of exceptions, this is not a strong line-up, particularly compared with the second semi on Thursday.

In fact, two of my three least favorite songs are here: the Czech entry “Aven Romale” and the Belgium entry “Copycat,” which I think is one of the worst Eurovision songs ever. (Which, when you think about it, is really saying something.) Fortunately, these two songs are second and third on the night respectively, and I at least have hopes that Gipsy.cz will offer an amusing performance.

Ten songs go through, and I could try to explain the arcane rules behind the voting, but you might just want to visit the Wikipedia page on this year’s contest for that. Instead, here are my picks to go on to the final. We’ll see tomorrow how inaccurate these turn out to be.

  • Turkey – Hadise: “Düm Tek Tek” (No doubt at all on this one)
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina – Regina: “Bistra voda” (My fave on the night)
  • Israel – Noa and Mira Awad: “There Must Be Another Way”
  • Montenegro – Andrea Demirović: “Just Get Out of My Life”
  • Malta – Chiara: “What If We” (If this doesn’t get voted through, I’d bet it’d be the wild card)
  • Sweden – Malena Ernman: “La Voix”
  • Armenia – Inga and Anush Arshakyan: “Jan Jan” (A weak entry, but Armenia is as solid as Turkey in getting out of the semis, I think)
  • Portugal – Flor-De-Lis: “Todas as ruas do amor”
  • Romania – Elena Gheorghe: “The Balkan Girls” (Not confident in this pick)
  • Andorra – Susanne Georgi: “La teva decisió (Get a Life)” (Even less confident in this pick than the Romanian entry)

You can watch the big show live at at the Eurovision website at 9:00p CET/3:00p EDT, or on-demand after the show (probably around 1:00a CET/7:00p EDT).